John F. Morten Award for Exemplary Lakes Stewardship

In September 2002, a special award was created in honor of the late John F. Morten (1914-1989). It was Mr. Morten’s lifelong work, giving generously of his time, talents, and financial resources to help protect New Hampshire’s lakes and ponds that he loved so much. He was a person who made things happen—at once the creative idea man, leader, and activist who was organized, determined, and persistent in the achievement of any task. It is in tribute to his vision, dedication, commitment and vigor that NH LAKES established the John F. Morten Memorial Award for Exemplary Lakes Stewardship.

A recipient of the John F. Morten Award for Exemplary Lakes Stewardship

Call for Nominations

The eligible candidate(s) should possess any one or several of the following characteristics:

    • Exemplify the values, commitment, and hard work that John Morten brought to the cause of lake protection
    • Serve as a model of an exemplary lake steward by the way they live and act
    • Unselfish giving of time, talent and/or treasure to protect New Hampshire’s lakes and ponds
    • Notable achievements as a practicing lake educator
    • Manifested vision and foresight in developing long term solutions to long term problems related to New Hampshire’s public water

(Please note that current NH LAKES Board Members and Staff are not eligible to be nominated for the award.)

John F. Morten Award Recipients

2002   State Senator Carl Johnson (Meredith)
2003   Laura and John Nichols (Wolfeboro)
2004   Nancy Earle (South Conway)
2005   William B. Martin, Jr. (Enfield)
2006   W. Wallace Francis (Nelson)
2007   Courtland Cross (New London)
2008   Hallock Richards (Moultonborough)
2009   Philip Parsons (Sandwich)
2010   Shirley and Glyn Green (Enfield)
2011    John (‘Jack’) Sheehan (New London)
2012   Richard (‘Dick’) Clayton (New London)
2013   Tom Duffy (Nottingham)
2014   Marge and Dave Thorpe (Meredith)
2015   Robin Loveland (Antrim)
2016   William (Bill) Schroeder (Windham)
2017   John B. Wilson (New London)
2018   Midge Eliassen (Sunapee)
2019   Mark Lorenze (Franklin)
2020  Ted Kramer (Silver Lake)
2021   Ann Scholz (Northwood)
2022  Joseph Farrelly (Deerfield)
2023  Steve Wingate (Mirror Lake)